Metropolitan Demetrius’s Schedule for April and May 2017

Trip to New York City
Friday, April 14 - Sunday, April 16 (St Markella Cathedral)

Trip to Owego, NY
Saturday, April 22 - Sunday, April 23 (St Maximos Church)

Trip to New York City
Saturday, April 29 - Sunday, April 30 (St Markella Cathedral)

Trip to Boston
Friday, May 5 - Monday, May 8 (St Mark Cathedral)

Trip to Rochester, NY
Saturday, May 20 - Monday, May 22 (Holy Ascension Church)

Trip to Bearsville, NY
Thursday, May 25 - Friday, May 26 (Holy Ascension Monastery)

Trip to New York City/Long Island
Friday, May 26 - Monday, May 29 (St Markella, NYC/St Isidore, Long Island)

Orthodox Awareness

The Reading is from the (False) Prophecy of Paisios

In the August 6, 2009 edition of the newspaper «Ελεύθερη Ώρα» (Free Time), the following article was published with the title “Grapsas, Paisios and the Prophecy!”:

“There was another prophecy for General Grapsas and they feared it.

For some time now the prophecy of Elder Paisios is circulating. Certainly, while the prophecy is one thing, reality is something else, but somewhere there is an extreme. Read more...

Missions

Saint Matthew the Evangelist, Jonesboro, Arkansas

Jonesboro is a town located near the Eastern border of Arkansas, with a population of approximately 60,000. From a human standpoint, it’s not the most likely candidate for a traditional Orthodox mission, but for an Orthodox Christian who orders his priorities around Christ and His Church, it makes perfect sense. Read more...

Youth

2021 St. Xenia Camp

Greetings St. Xenia Camp family,

As previously announced, through the intercessions of St. Xenia, the prayers of so many of you, and with the blessing of Metropolitan Demetrius, St. Xenia Camp 2021 will return to Forest Acres in Fryeburg, Maine August 15-21! Given the continued impact of COVID-19, camp this year may yet be somewhat different from the past Forest Acres experiences. We are sharing this information ahead of registration so that all families can make an informed decision on whether they feel comfortable sending their camper(s) this year. [Read more...]

 

Ask A Priest

Two-Headed Snake Cane?

Q. Can you tell me what the two-headed snake cane the Greek Bishop is walking with represents? What does it mean?
-V.T. Read more...