Metropolitan Demetrius’s Schedule for April and May 2017

Trip to New York City
Friday, April 14 - Sunday, April 16 (St Markella Cathedral)

Trip to Owego, NY
Saturday, April 22 - Sunday, April 23 (St Maximos Church)

Trip to New York City
Saturday, April 29 - Sunday, April 30 (St Markella Cathedral)

Trip to Boston
Friday, May 5 - Monday, May 8 (St Mark Cathedral)

Trip to Rochester, NY
Saturday, May 20 - Monday, May 22 (Holy Ascension Church)

Trip to Bearsville, NY
Thursday, May 25 - Friday, May 26 (Holy Ascension Monastery)

Trip to New York City/Long Island
Friday, May 26 - Monday, May 29 (St Markella, NYC/St Isidore, Long Island)

Orthodox Awareness

Bartholomew Prays at Iftar

Iftar, refers to the evening meal when Muslims break their fast during the Islamic month of Ramadan. Iftar is one of the religious observances of Ramadan and is often done as a community, with people gathering to break their fast together. Iftar is done right after sunset.

We report the following unchanged as it was published:

"The leaders of the Armenian, Roman, Jewish and Syrian communities of Turkey sat around the fasting Iftar dinner in the Beyoglu district of Istanbul." Read more...

Missions

Saints Peter and Paul Orthodox Mission, Tucson, Arizona

Saints Peter and Paul Orthodox Church in Tucson, AZ, is a beautiful mission parish near downtown Tucson, a city in southern Arizona. It was started in 1997 by Father John Bockman, who was a missionary priest formerly serving missions in Tennessee and Massachusetts since 1990. Read more...

Ask A Priest

Fasting

Q. There seems to be a lot of variation in how people observe fasting, but my confessor told me to fast from oil on Wednesday and Friday. Oil is a pretty vague category, though, and I was wondering if I could get a more explicit description of what kinds of food and drink are excluded on strict fast days. Read more...