Metropolitan Demetrius’s Schedule for April and May 2017

Trip to New York City
Friday, April 14 - Sunday, April 16 (St Markella Cathedral)

Trip to Owego, NY
Saturday, April 22 - Sunday, April 23 (St Maximos Church)

Trip to New York City
Saturday, April 29 - Sunday, April 30 (St Markella Cathedral)

Trip to Boston
Friday, May 5 - Monday, May 8 (St Mark Cathedral)

Trip to Rochester, NY
Saturday, May 20 - Monday, May 22 (Holy Ascension Church)

Trip to Bearsville, NY
Thursday, May 25 - Friday, May 26 (Holy Ascension Monastery)

Trip to New York City/Long Island
Friday, May 26 - Monday, May 29 (St Markella, NYC/St Isidore, Long Island)

Orthodox Awareness

Why the True Orthodox Are Truly Orthodox

A Rejoinder to Fr. Basil Gregoriates and an Apology for Breaking Communion with Ecumenist Bishops

In every age the devil tempts the faithful by various means: persecutions, foreign invasions, the lure of worldly seduction. Among his most effective snares are heresy and schism which, by separating Christians from the Church, lead them away from Christ and into spiritual deception and apostasy. Read more...

Missions

Saint John of Kronstadt - Bunnell, Florida

St. John of Kronstadt Orthodox Church began as a mission parish in the year 2000, in a home chapel in Palm Coast, FL – a small town on Florida’s northeast coast located between St. Augustine and Daytona Beach. After two years, it became necessary to have services in area community centers, rented for Sundays and other Holy Days. Read more...

Ask A Priest

Fasting

Q. There seems to be a lot of variation in how people observe fasting, but my confessor told me to fast from oil on Wednesday and Friday. Oil is a pretty vague category, though, and I was wondering if I could get a more explicit description of what kinds of food and drink are excluded on strict fast days. Read more...